ROCK THE VOTE! 7 Year Bitch – Sick ‘Em (1992), Viva Zapata! (1994), Gato Negro (1996)

Ah, the cherished 7 Year Bitch CD’s, well worn and much played.

My first introduction to 7 Year Bitch was seeing them perform in 1992 at one of the ROCK FOR CHOICE shows at the Palladium in Hollywood. Although I now bow down to worship at their musical alter, at that time I thought they were ridiculous. Riot Grrrl was not on my radar and my political awareness could saddle up and ride upon the back of a flea (it was microscopic). Keep in mind I was still fresh from the school of Stevie Nicks and Heart. A band like 7 Year Bitch was foreign to me. Their lyrics and performance was political, no bullshit and in your face, not shrouded in the gypsy metaphorical magic dust that was familiar to me. On top of that, they had absolutely no scarves, mandolins or doves incorporated into their show!

Still, these shows perked up my ears and opened my eyes. Walking around ROCK FOR CHOICE and the various Barbara Boxer benefits being held was my political awakening. Visiting tables and taking pamphlets on contraception, Roe vs Wade, and self-defense techniques for women from the tattooed and pierced rocker chicks who were unabashedly handing them out, helped me to find and solidify my worldview. The gut feelings I had were defined and given shape as I started to discover paths to the clans of like minds out there.

The 1992 Presidential election year was a big one for me. It was the first time I actually voted for someone that I felt was my president. Also, after living in Los Angeles for two years, supporting and voting Barbara Boxer into office made me feel legitimate when I called California my home.  The bands of course were what initially inspired me to buy a ticket to these events, but it was the whole of the experience that got me out of my head and out into the world better equipped to understand, appreciate and love what 7 Year Bitch contributed to the world.

Tomorrow is once again a big election day. Please don’t forget to vote. Also, I know some of the propositions we are voting on this time around are quite confusing, so I am going to wrap up this blog post by helping you better understand some of the Propositions you will be voting on.

JEN’S GUIDE TO THE PROPOSITIONS:

Prop 3: Unofficially known as the Omne Trium Perfectum Proposition, Prop 3 will require, by law, that all comedians limit podcasts to three (3) minutes or less until their talent is proven in the court of public opinion.  Costs associated with a YES vote on Prop 3 would be a 150% increase in open mike comedy nights and quadruple the number of web series produced by mid-2013.

Prop K9: Known on the street as the F*cking Clean Up Your G*d D*mned Dog’s Sh*t Proposition. A YES vote on Prop K9 would require all dog parks to become official repositories for the mounds of dog poop left unattended by canine owners on city streets and public park paths.  An increase in the business tax on gourmet doggie biscuit boutiques and canine salons would help pay for the new pick up and dumping services that would be required. Prop K9 is funded in part by all shoe soles walking the grounds of the United States of America, non-profit group FAD (Felines Against Dogs) and the crazy cat lady next door.

Prop WTF: A YES vote on Prop WTF equals a NO vote on Prop HUH. In order for Prop HUH to pass, vote YES on Prop WTF but NO on Prop DOH and Prop 7. A NO vote on Prop WTF equals a YES vote on both Prop HUH and Prop DOH, but a NO on Prop 16. A YES vote on Prop WTF and a NO vote on HUH equal a NO for Prop DOH and will activate the bonus round.

Image

4 thoughts on “ROCK THE VOTE! 7 Year Bitch – Sick ‘Em (1992), Viva Zapata! (1994), Gato Negro (1996)

Leave a Reply

